

Indian National Science Academy

drishtiias.com/printpdf/indian-national-science-academy

Chandrima Shaha will be the **first woman president** of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), taking up the position in January 2020. She was formerly the Director of the National Institute of Immunology, Delhi.

- The INSA, formerly known as National Institute of Sciences of India (NISI) was
 established in January 1935 with the object of promoting science in India and
 harnessing scientific knowledge for the cause of humanity and national welfare.
- In October 1945, the then Government of India recognized the institute as the premier scientific society of India, representing all branches of science.
- It was designated as the **adhering organization in India to the International Council for Science (ICSU)** on behalf of the Government of India in January 1968.

Note:

- The International Council for Science (ICSU) and the International Social Science Council (ISSC) were merged to form the International Science Council (ISC) in 2018.
- ISC is a non-governmental organization with a unique global membership that brings together 40 international scientific Unions and Associations and over 140 national and regional scientific organizations including Academies and Research Councils.
- The vision of the Council is to advance science as a global public good.
- ISC is headquartered in Paris, France.

Source: TH