

Article 370

Why in News?

On 25 February 2025, Jammu & Kashmir Chief Minister stated that <u>Article 370</u> was described as a "temporary or transitional" provision because J&K's status had not been fully formalized at the time of its accession to India in 1947.

Key Points

- Article 370's Temporary Status:
 - The Chief Minister asserted that the promise of a <u>plebiscite</u> led to this classification, as J&K's future was expected to be determined through democratic means.
 - He emphasized the need to revisit the Instrument of Accession signed by Dogra ruler
 Hari Singh and the Government of India in 1947.
 - He argued that while J&K's accession to India became final over time, the conditions and framework that enabled it should have remained unchanged.
 - He insisted that both aspects—accession and its governing framework—should be treated equally, rather than considering one as permanent and the other as temporary.
- Post-2019 Changes in J&K:
 - He also acknowledged the changing atmosphere in J&K following the abrogation of Article 370 in 2019.

Article 370

- About:
 - Article 370 of the Indian constitution granted special status to Jammu and Kashmir.
 - It was drafted by N Gopalaswami Ayyangar, a member of the Constituent Assembly of India and was added as a 'temporary provision' in 1949.
 - This article allowed Jammu and Kashmir to have its constitution, flag, and autonomy over most matters except defence, foreign affairs, and communications.
 - The provision was based on the terms of the **Instrument of Accession**, which was signed by the ruler of Jammu and Kashmir, Hari Singh, in 1947 following an invasion by Pakistan.
- Repeal of Article 370:
 - Presidential Order: In the 2019 Presidential orders, Parliament redefined the "constituent assembly of Jammu and Kashmir" to mean the "Legislative Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir."
 - By invoking the **President's rule**, Parliament then assumed the powers of the Legislative Assembly to revoke Article 370.
 - Resolutions in Parliament: On 5th and 6th August 2019, concurrent resolutions were passed by both houses of Parliament, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, respectively.
 - These resolutions revoked the **remaining provisions of Article 370** and replaced them with new provisions.
 - Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019: It was passed by Parliament in 2019 to bifurcate the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

