

Statehood Day of Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh

Source: DD

President Droupadi Murmu greeted **Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram on Statehood Day** (20th February).

- Mizoram: It was originally known as the Lushai Hills district of Assam and was renamed Mizo Hills in 1954. The Mautam famine of 1959 led to the rise of the Mizo National Front (MNF), which sought to establish a sovereign nation for the Mizo people.
 - This movement culminated in an armed uprising in 1966, particularly after **Nagaland** gained statehood in 1963.
 - Mizoram became a Union Territory in 1972 after an accord with MNF moderates and gained statehood on 20th February 1987 following the Mizoram Peace Accord (1986) with the Central government.
- Arunachal Pradesh: Formerly the North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA), Arunachal Pradesh became a Union Territory in 1972 and gained statehood on 20th February 1987, under the Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986. Its capital, Itanagar, is named after the 14th-century Ita Fort.



REORGANISATION OF STATES IN INDIA

The States Reorganisation Commission set up in 1956 suggested the formation of 14 States and 6 UTs. At present, India comprises 28 states and 8 UTs.

- States classified into **4 categories** Part A, B, C and D (1st Schedule)
- Part A Ruled by Governor with elected State Legislature
 Andhra Pradesh (first state on linguistic lines) 1953
- o Part B Former Princely States
- Part C Former Chief Commissioners' Provinces, some Princely states
- Part D Andaman and Nicobar Islands

7th Constitutional Amendment (1956) -

- Distinction between Part-A and Part-B states done away
- Part-C states were abolished
- Made total no. of (erstwhile) states 14 and UTs 6

Reorganisation/Creation of States/UTs after 1956

States Carved Out of Other States

- (Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960)
- Nagaland from Assam (State of Nagaland Act, 1962)
- (Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966)
- Meghalaya from Assam (North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971)
- (9) Chhattisgarh from MP (Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Outtarakhand from UP (Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Abarkhand from Bihar (Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Telangana from Andhra Pradesh (Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014)



States Formed by Granting Statehood

- (State of Himachal Pradesh (State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970)
- (North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971)
- (9) **Sikkim** (36th Constitutional Amendment (1975))
- (State of Mizoram Act, 1986)
- Arunachal Pradesh (State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986)
- Goa (Goa, Daman, and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987)

Formation of UTs

- Andaman and Nicobar Islands,
 Delhi, Lakshadweep 1956
- 9 Puducherry 1962
- (handigarh 1966)
- J&K and Ladakh 2019
- Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu - 2020

Read more: Statehood Day of Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/statehood-day-of-mizoram-and-arunachal-pradesh-1