

## Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso Left ECOWAS

The West African nations of **Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso** have officially withdrawn from the **Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)**.

- The three countries formed the Alliance of <u>Sahel States</u>, seeking military support from **Russia** and distancing themselves from the US and France.
  - The Sahel is a semiarid region (western and north-central Africa), a transitional zone between the <u>Sahara desert</u> (north) and humid <u>savannas</u> (south).
- About ECOWAS:
  - It is a regional group of 15 West African countries (before withdrawal), founded in 1975 with the signing of the Treaty of Lagos (Nigeria).
  - It is headquartered in Abuja, Nigeria and aims to promote economic integration and shared development of the West African sub-region.
  - It established its free trade area in 1990 and adopted a common external tariff in 2015.
  - A <u>peacekeeping force</u> was sent to <u>Liberia in 1990</u> during its <u>civil</u> war and to <u>Sierra Leone in 1997</u> after the government was overthrown.
  - Mauritania withdrew in 2000 but rejoined as an associate member in 2017.



**Read More: Economic Community of West African States** 

