

### **Statehood Day of Himachal Pradesh**

#### **Source: PIB**

The **Prime Minister** greeted the people of <u>Himachal Pradesh (HP)</u> on the occasion of **Statehood Day** (25<sup>th</sup> January).

- Key Facts RegardingHimachal Pradesh:
  - The Chief Commissioner's province of HP came into being on 15th April 1948.
  - HP became a part C state on 26th January 1950 with the implementation of the Constitution of India.
    - Part C states included former Chief Commissioner's provinces and some erstwhile <u>princely states</u> of British India.
  - After recommendation of the <u>State Reorganisation Commission</u>, HP became a <u>Union</u> Territory on 1<sup>st</sup> November 1956.
  - Kangra and most of the other hill areas of Punjab were merged with HP on 1<sup>st</sup> November 1966 though it remained a Union Territory.
  - On 18<sup>th</sup> December 1970 the State of HP Act was passed by <u>Parliament</u> and the new state came into being on 25<sup>th</sup> January 1971. HP emerged as the 18<sup>th</sup> state of the Indian Union.

# REORGANISATION OF STATES IN INDIA

The States Reorganisation Commission set up in 1956 suggested the formation of 14 States and 6 UTs. At present, India comprises 28 states and 8 UTs.

- States classified into **4 categories** Part A, B, C and D (1<sup>st</sup> Schedule)
- Part A Ruled by Governor with elected State Legislature
   Andhra Pradesh (first state on linguistic lines) 1953
- Part B Former Princely States
- o Part C Former Chief Commissioners' Provinces, some Princely states
- o Part D Andaman and Nicobar Islands

# 7<sup>th</sup> Constitutional Amendment (1956) -

- Distinction between Part-A and Part-B states done away
- Part-C states were abolished
- Made total no. of (erstwhile) states 14 and UTs 6

### Reorganisation/Creation of States/UTs after 1956

## States Carved Out of Other States

- (Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960)
- Nagaland from Assam (State of Nagaland Act, 1962)
- (Punjab)
  Reorganisation Act, 1966)
- Meghalaya from Assam (North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971)
- (9) Chhattisgarh from MP (Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Uttarakhand from UP (Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Harkhand from Bihar (Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Telangana from Andhra Pradesh (Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014)



#### States Formed by Granting Statehood

- Himachal Pradesh (State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970)
- Manipur and Tripura (North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971)
- Sikkim (36<sup>th</sup> Constitutional Amendment (1975))
- (State of Mizoram Act, 1986)
- Arunachal Pradesh (State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986)
- (Soa (Goa, Daman, and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987)

## Formation of UTs

- (9) Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Delhi, Lakshadweep - 1956
- 9 Puducherry 1962
- Chandigarh 1966
- (5) J&K and Ladakh 2019
- Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu - 2020

Read More: Reorganisation of States in India