

Statehood Day for Manipur, Tripura, and Meghalaya

Source: PIB

Why in News?

The Prime Minister of India greeted <u>Manipur, Tripura</u>, and <u>Meghalaya</u> on their <u>Statehood Day (21st lanuary)</u>.

What is the Historical Context Behind the Statehood Day?

- Merger of Manipur: Before 1947, Manipur was an independent princely state. The Maharaja, Bodhachandra Singh, signed the 'Instrument of Accession' with the Indian government, agreeing to merge with India while ensuring internal autonomy.
 - Manipur held its first election based on universal adult franchise in 1948, becoming a constitutional monarchy.
 - In 1949, under pressure from the Indian government, the Maharaja signed the Merger Agreement without consulting Manipur's elected assembly.
 - Following the merger, Manipur's State Assembly was dissolved, and it became
 a Part C State, administered by the President of India through a Chief
 Commissioner or Lieutenant Governor.
 - On 1st November 1, 1956, Manipur became a Union Territory under the Union Territorial Council Act, 1956. Later on 21st January 1972, Manipur was granted full statehood through the North-Eastern Areas (Re-organization) Act, 1971 (NEA-(R) Act).
- Merger of Tripura: Tripura, a princely state, merged with India in 1949, facilitated by Queen Kanchan Prabha Devi, who assumed regency after King Bir Bikram's death.
 - After merging with India, Tripura became a Part 'C' State. In 1956, it became a Union Territory, and later on 21st January 1972, Tripura became a full-fledged State under the NEA-(R) Act, 1971.
- Meghalaya: Meghalaya's statehood journey began with demands for greater autonomy from Assam, particularly from the Khasi, Jaintia, and Garo Hills, who sought a separate state to preserve indigenous cultures, especially after Assam's attempt to impose Assamese as the medium of instruction.
 - In 1969, the Assam Reorganization (Meghalaya) Act established Meghalaya an autonomous state within Assam.
 - Following this, the NEA (R) Act, 1971 granted full statehood to Meghalaya, making it the 21st state of India, with Shillong as its capital.

North-Eastern Areas (Re-organization) Act, 1971

- Manipur and Tripura: Upgraded from Union Territories to full-fledged states.
- Meghalaya: Formed as a state from autonomous regions of Assam.
- Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh: Established as Union Territories.
- Representation in the Legislature: Allocated seats for the new North-Eastern states in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and the House of the People (Lok Sabha).
 - Ensured proper representation of <u>Scheduled Castes</u> and <u>Scheduled Tribes</u> in the legislative assemblies.

Judicial Reorganization: Established the Gauhati High Court as the common High Court for the States of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, and Tripura.

REORGANISATION OF STATES IN INDIA

The States Reorganisation Commission set up in 1956 suggested the formation of 14 States and 6 UTs. At present, India comprises 28 states and 8 UTs.

States classified into **4 categories**- Part **A, B, C and D** (1st Schedule)

- Part A Ruled by Governor with elected State Legislature
 Andhra Pradesh (first state on linguistic lines) 1953
- Part B Former Princely States
- o Part C Former Chief Commissioners' Provinces, some Princely states
- Part D Andaman and Nicobar Islands

7th Constitutional Amendment (1956) -

- Distinction between Part-A and Part-B states done away
- Part-C states were abolished
- Made total no. of (erstwhile) states 14 and UTs 6

Reorganisation/Creation of States/UTs after 1956

States Carved Out of Other States

- Gujarat and Maharashtra from Bombay (Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960)
- Nagaland from Assam (State of Nagaland Act, 1962)
- Haryana from Punjab (Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966)
- (North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971)
- (hadhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Uttarakhand from UP (Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Harkhand from Bihar (Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000)
- Telangana from Andhra Pradesh (Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014)



States Formed by Granting Statehood

- Himachal Pradesh (State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970)
- Manipur and Tripura (North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971)
- Sikkim (36th Constitutional Amendment (1975))
- (State of Mizoram Act, 1986)
- Arunachal Pradesh (State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986)
- Goa (Goa, Daman, and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987)

Formation of UTs

- Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Delhi, Lakshadweep - 1956
- (9) Puducherry 1962
- (9) Chandigarh 1966
- J&K and Ladakh 2019
- Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu - 2020