

UGC Halts PhD Admissions in Three Rajasthan Universities

Why in News?

The <u>University Grants Commission (UGC)</u> has prohibited three universities in Rajasthan from enrolling new **Ph.D. students**. This action follows investigations into **allegations of issuing fake and backdated degrees.**

Key Points

- Universities Affected: The institutions barred from enrolling new Ph.D. scholars are OPJS
 University, Churu, Sunrise University, Alwar and Singhania University, Jhunjhunu.
- Allegations: A Standing Committee appointed by UGC has found that the three Universities did not follow the provisions of the UGC PhD Regulations and the academic norms for awarding of PhD degrees.
- UGC's Action: The Standing Committee has recommended that the UGC may debar these Universities from enrolling PhD students for the next five years.
- Implications: This incidence raises concerns about the quality and credibility of higher education institutions in Rajasthan.
 - It underscores the need for stringent oversight to maintain academic standards and protect students' interests.

University Grants Commission (UGC)

- UGC came into existence on 28th December, 1953 and became a statutory Organisation of the Government of India under the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of teaching, examination and research in university education.
- The UGC operates under the Ministry of Education, the Central Government appoints a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, and ten other members to the UGC.
 - The Chairman is chosen from people who are not officers of the Central Government or any State Government.
- Apart from providing grants to eligible universities and colleges, the Commission also advises
 the Central and State Governments on the measures that are necessary for the development of
 Higher Education.
- It functions from New Delhi as well as its six Regional offices located in Bangalore, Bhopal, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Pune.
- It also regulates the recognition of fake universities, autonomous colleges, deemed to be universities and distance education institutions.

