

Bihar's First Sports University Gets UGC Recognition

Why in News?

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has recognised Bihar's first sports university, inaugurated by the State Chief Minister on National Sports Day 2024 in Rajgir, Nalanda district.

Key Points

- UGC Recognition:
 - The Bihar Sports University, Rajgir, has received recognition from the UGC under Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956.
 - This recognition empowers the university to offer academic courses, including undergraduate and diploma/PG diploma programs in physical education and sports sciences.
- Academic Programs and Future Plans:
 - The university plans to launch various academic programs starting from the 2025-2026 academic session.
 - These programs will include:
 - Diploma/PG diploma in sports coaching (covering two or three sports).
 - · Diploma/PG diploma in Yoga.
 - Four-year Bachelor of Physical Education (pending recognition from the National Council for Teacher Education).
- Sports Complex and Additional Developments:
 - The Bihar Sports University and the State's first sports academy are part of the <u>International Sports Complex in Rajgir.</u>
 - The complex also hosted the Women's Asian Champions Trophy in November 2024.
- Grievance Redressal Mechanism:
 - The UGC guidelines mandate the appointment of an ombudsperson for addressing student grievances, as per the <u>UGC (Redressal of Grievances of Students'</u> <u>Regulation, 2023)</u>, ideally within two months of the university beginning academic activities.

University Grants Commission

- The University Grants Commission (UGC) came into existence on 28th December, 1953 and became a statutory Organization of the Government of India by an Act of Parliament in 1956, for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of teaching, examination and research in university education.
- It **operates under the Ministry of Education, the Central Government** appoints a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, and ten other members to the UGC.
- It functions from New Delhi as well as its six Regional offices located in Bangalore, Bhopal, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Pune.
- It also regulates the recognition of fake universities, autonomous colleges, deemed to be universities and distance education institutions.

