

## **Reconstitution of Atomic Energy Commission**

## **Source: ET**

The government has recently reconstituted the **Atomic Energy Commission (AEC)**.

- Ajit Kumar Mohanty, Secretary, <u>Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)</u>, is the Chairman of the AEC and <u>National Security Adviser</u> Ajit Doval is among the key members.
- About Atomic Energy Commission (AEC): AEC was first established in August 1948 to oversee atomic energy research under the Department of Scientific Research.
  - In 1958, the AEC was restructured within the DAE, and set up in 1954, under the direct charge of the Prime Minister.
  - The Secretary of the **DAE** serves as the **ex-officio Chairman** of the Commission, with other members appointed annually upon **Prime Ministerial approval**.
  - The AEC formulates policies to promote peaceful uses of nuclear energy, empowering India through advancements in nuclear technology, healthcare, food security, and energy independence.

Read more: Year End Review 2019: Department of Atomic Energy

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/reconstitution-of-atomic-energy-commission