

New ISRO Chairman Dr. V. Narayanan

Source: TH

Dr. V. Narayanan will succeed **S. Somanath** as <u>Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)</u>
Chairman and Secretary of the <u>Department of Space (DoS)</u>, starting 14th January 2025, for a two-year tenure.

- Narayanan's Role in ISRO's 2025 Missions: As ISRO Chairman, Narayanan will oversee the launch of NVS-02 for India's navigation system, lead the unmanned Gaganyaan mission with Vyommitra, and the Indo-US NISAR satellite launch in March 2025.
- Contributions of Dr. S. Somanath: Led <u>Chandrayaan-3</u>, <u>Aditya-L1</u>, <u>XpoSat</u>, and <u>INSAT</u> missions.
 - Spearheaded <u>Small Satellite Launch Vehicle</u> (<u>SSLV</u>), <u>Re-usable Launch Vehicle</u> (<u>RLV-LEX</u>) and <u>Gaganyaan abort missions</u>.
 - As Secretary of DoS, initiated <u>National Space Policy 2023</u>, <u>IN-SPACe</u>, and fostered collaboration with ISRO and private ventures.
- ISRO: Formed on 15th August 1969, succeeded Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR), which was established in 1962 under <u>Dr. Vikram Sarabhai</u> to advance space technology for national development.
 - In 1972, India formed the Space Commission and established the DoS, bringing ISRO under its control.
 - The Secretariat of DOS and ISRO headquarters are located at Antariksh Bhavan in Bangalore.



Read more: New ISRO Chairman S. Somanath

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/new-isro-chairman-dr-v-narayanan

