

Inauguration of Jammu and Rayagada Railway Division

Source: IE

Recently, **Prime Minister (PM)** virtually inaugurated the **new Jammu Railway Division**, India's 70th division, carved from the Firozpur Division, covering 742.1 km.

- He also inaugurated the Cherlapally terminal station in Telangana and laid the foundation stone for the Rayagada railway division (69th Division) building in Odisha under the East Coast Railway zone.
- Indian Railways now has 17 zones and 70 divisions.
- New Jammu Railway Division: Jammu Railway Division has been carved from the Firozpur Division and covers 742.1 km.
 - A new Katra-Reasi railway section and Vande Bharat train services to Srinagar will also start from 26th January 2025.
- The PM highlighted ongoing efforts in expanding metro networks, dedicated freight corridors, alongside initiatives such as solar-powered stations and the development of high-speed rail systems.
- About Indian Railways:
 - It was established in 1853 and is one of the largest railway networks globally.
 - The first train in India ran over a distance of 21 miles, connecting Bombay and Thane.
 - India has the 3rd largest metro-rail network in the world after China and the US. By 2050, India is projected to account for 40% of the global rail activity.



Read More: India's Journey of Infrastructure Development

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/inauguration-of-jammu-and-rayagada-railway-division

