

Rajasthan Government Dissolves 9 Districts

Why in News?

 Recently, the Rajasthan government <u>dissolved nine districts and three divisions</u> created in 2023.

Key Points

- Reorganization of Districts and Divisions:
 - Rajasthan will now have **41 districts and seven divisions.**
 - The divisions of Pali, Sikar, and Banswara have been annulled.
 - Eight districts were retained due to "administrative necessity."
 - Abolished Districts:
 - Dudu, Kekri, Shahpura, Neem Ka Thana, Gangapur City, Jaipur Rural, Jodhpur Rural, Anupgarh, and Sanchore.
 - Retained Districts:
 - Balotra, Beawar, Deeg, Didwana-Kuchaman, Kotputli-Behror, Khairthal-Tijara, Phalodi, and Salumbar.
- Administrative Issues with New Districts:
 - Lack of Infrastructure:
 - New districts lacked office buildings, administrative infrastructure, and official posts, despite the lapse of over a year.
 - The creation of 18 departmental posts proved to be burdensome.

Committee Recommendations:

- <u>A High-Level Committee report</u> recommended abolishing the new districts, finding them unviable.
- A Cabinet Sub-Committee was also formed to review the status of these districts.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/rajasthan-government-dissolves-9-districts