

Jammu & Kashmir Assembly Election | Jammu & Kashmir | 17 Sep 2024

Why in News?

The **first phase** of the **Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Election 202**4 is set to take place on 18 September 2024, with extensive preparations and heightened security measures in place to ensure a smooth and fair voting process.

Key Details:

- Polling Constituencies:
 - Voting will occur in 24 constituencies during this first phase.
 - 16 constituencies are located in southern Kashmir, and 8 constituencies are in the Jammu division.
- Security Arrangements:
 - Multi-tier security arrangements have been implemented to maintain order and safety during the elections.
 - This includes increased deployment of security personnel at polling booths and strategic locations.
- Election Phases:
 - The election will be conducted in three phases: September 18, September 25, and
 October 12.
 - The second phase will cover 26 constituencies, including districts like Srinagar,
 Poonch, and Rajouri.
 - The final phase will involve 40 constituencies, including Bandipora, Baramulla, and Jammu.

What is Delimitation?

About:

- Delimitation means the act or process of fixing limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies in a country or a province having a legislative body.
- The Delimitation Commission Act was enacted in 1952.
 - The Delimitation Commission is appointed by the <u>President</u> of India and works in collaboration with the <u>Election Commission of India</u> (ECI).
- Delimitation Commissions have been set up four times 1952, 1963, 1973 and 2002 under the Acts of 1952, 1962, 1972 and 2002.
- The first delimitation exercise was carried out by the President (with the help of the Election Commission) in **1950-51**.