

## **New Chairman of ICC**

## Source: HT

**Recently, Jay Shah** has been elected as the new chairman of the <u>International Cricket Council (ICC)</u>, becoming the **youngest** ever to reach this position.

- He currently holds the position of <u>Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)</u> secretary and will take over the charge at ICC from 1<sup>st</sup> December, 2024, succeeding Greg Barclay of New Zealand as ICC chairman
- He became the **fifth Indian** to become ICC chairman after Jagmohan Dalmiya, Sharad Pawar, N Srinivasan and Shashank Manohar.
- About ICC:
  - Establishment: Imperial Cricket Conference (as the ICC was originally called) was founded in 1909. It became the International Cricket Council in 1989.
  - Function: The ICC is the global governing body for cricket. It organises major international tournaments, including the ICC Cricket World Cup, ICC T20 World Cup, and ICC Champions Trophy.
  - Membership: The ICC has 108 members as of 2024, consisting of 12 Full Members who
    play Test matches and 96 Associate Members.
  - Headquarters: Dubai, UAE

Read More...

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/new-chairman-of-icc