

## Review Meeting on 17 New Districts of Rajasthan

## Why in News?

Recently, a **review meeting was held to evaluate the status of the 17 new districts** created during the earlier government's tenure in Rajasthan.

## **Key Points**

- New Districts and Divisions: The <u>new districts</u> in Rajasthan include Anupgarh, Gangapur City, Kotputli, Balotra, Jaipur City, Khairthal, Beawar, Jaipur Rural, Neemkathana, Deeg, Jodhpur City, Phalodi, Didwana, Jodhpur Rural, Salumber, Dudu, Kekri, Sanchore, and Shahpura.
  - Additionally, **three new divisions**—Banswara, Pali, and Sikar—have been created.
- Cost and Administration: Creating a district costs approximately Rs.2,000 crore (as per the review committee report).
  - The district of Pratapgarh, **established in 2008**, is still incomplete and administrative tasks remain pending.
- Future Considerations: Retired IAS officer Lalit K. Pawar has been reappointed to oversee the 17 new districts and gather public feedback.
  - He is responsible for preparing a factual and analytical report for further committee consideration.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/review-meeting-on-17-new-districts-of-rajasthan