

New Parliamentary Committees Formed for 2024-25

Source: TH

The recent constitution of **six new** <u>Parliamentary Committees</u> **by** <u>Lok Sabha Speaker</u> marks a strategic move in overseeing government functions.

- These committees include the <u>Public Accounts Committee</u> (PAC) (overseeing government expenditure), **Estimates Committee** (examining government spending and ensuring efficiency), **Public Undertakings Committee** (focusing on the performance of public sector enterprises), and committees focused on the welfare of <u>Other Backward Classes</u> (OBCs), <u>Scheduled Castes</u> (SCs), and <u>Scheduled Tribes</u> (STs).
- The newly constituted committees have a tenure of one year and include members from both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.
 - Unlike the previous Lok Sabha, where committee formation often involved elections, the committees in the 18th Lok Sabha have been primarily formed through consensus.
- Parliamentary committees, originating from the British Parliament, in India derive their authority from the Indian Constitution under Article 105 (powers and privileges) and Article 118 (regulation of business).
- Parliamentary Committees in India are of two kinds: Standing committees and Ad hoc committees.
 - **Standing committees** are **permanent committees** that are constituted by the Parliament to deal with specific areas of public policy or administration.
 - Ad Hoc Committees are temporary Committees formed for specific tasks or to review particular bills. Dissolved after completing their objectives.

Read more...

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/new-parliamentary-committees-formed-for-2024-25