

Disqualification Under Anti-Defection Law | Jharkhand | 27 Jul 2024

Why in News?

Recently, the **Jharkhand Assembly Speaker disqualified two legislators** under the <u>Anti-Defection</u> <u>Law.</u>

Key Points

- Both the legislators have been found guilty of defection under the <u>10th Schedule of the</u> <u>Constitution.</u>
- Anti-Defection Law
 - The anti-defection law punishes **individual Members of** Parliament (**MPs**)/<u>Members of the</u> <u>Legislative Assembly (MLAs)</u> for leaving one party for another.
 - Parliament added it to the Constitution as the Tenth Schedule in 1985 in order to bring stability to governments by discouraging legislators from changing parties.
 - The Tenth Schedule popularly known as the Anti-Defection Act was included in the Constitution via the 52nd Amendment Act, 1985.
 - It sets the provisions for the disqualification of elected members on the grounds of defection to another political party.
 - It was a response to the toppling of multiple state governments by party-hopping MLAs after the general elections of 1967.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/04-08-2024/jharkhand/print