

Eight Districts of Uttar Pradesh will Become 100% Digital **Payment**

Why In News?

According to information received from the media on September 5, 2023, eight districts of Uttar Pradesh will be equipped with a 100 percent digital payment ecosystem. By this year all these districts will become 100% proficient in digital payments.

Key Points:

- All these eight districts have been adopted by different banks. These include Fatehpur, Kannauj, Amroha, Varanasi, Shamli, Maharajganj, Deoria and Bahraich. The central headquarters of RBI is directly monitoring all these districts.
- Bank of Baroda has been given the responsibility of Fatehpur district selected for 100% digital payment. Bank of India has been given the responsibility of Kannauj, Canara Bank Amroha, Union Bank Varanasi, PNB Shamli, State Bank of India Maharajgani, Central Bank Deoria and Indian Bank Bahraich.
- Uttar Pradesh is also the first state in the country, where about 23 percent of the population is covered by the PM Suraksha Bima Yojana. PM Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana also covers 1.75 crore people of Uttar Pradesh, which is second in the country.
- Between April and June, 10.83 lakh and 28.43 lakh people have been covered under both the schemes respectively. About five crore people of the state have been covered under the PM Suraksha Bima Yojana. With this, Uttar Pradesh has become the first state in the country to have maximum insurance cover.



<u>//_</u>

 $PDF\ Reference\ URL:\ https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/eight-districts-of-uttar-pradesh-will-become-100-digital-payment$

