States Oppose PM-SHRI

Source: IE

As per a report published by Indian Express, The Education Ministry has stopped funds under the <u>Samagra Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA)</u>, to **Delhi, Punjab and West Bengal** because of their reluctance to participate in the <u>Pradhan Mantri Schools for Rising India (PM-SHRI) scheme</u>.

- The scheme includes a provision for establishing over 14,500 PM SHRI Schools (PM Schools for Rising India) by enhancing existing schools managed by the Central government, State/UT governments, and local bodies to showcase the implementation of the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020.
 - The Centre will cover 60% of the financial burden and states will cover 40% and the States must confirm their participation by signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Education Ministry.
- Five states Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Delhi, Punjab, and West Bengal have not signed the MoU.
 - Tamil Nadu and Kerala have shown willingness, while Delhi, Punjab, and West Bengal have refused, leading to the Centre stopping their SSA funds.
- <u>Samagra Shiksha</u> is an integrated scheme for school education extending from pre-school to class XII to ensure inclusive and equitable quality education at all levels of school education.
 - It subsumes the three Schemes of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA), Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan (RMSA) and Teacher Education (TE).
 - The main emphasis of the Scheme is on improving the quality of school education by focussing on the two T's - Teacher and Technology.

Read More: PM SHRI Schools

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/states-oppose-pm-shri