

Schedules in the Indian Constitution

SCHEDULES THE INTERNATION



Originally (1949), the Constitution had 8 schedules. Now, it comprises 12 Schedules; various amendments carried out since 1951 have added 4 Schedules (9th, 10th, 11th and 12th).

First Schedule

- 9 Articles: 1 & 4
- States and Union Territories with their territorial jurisdiction

Second Schedule

- Articles: 59, 65, 75, 97,125, 148, 158, 164, 186 & 221
- © Emoluments, allowances and privileges of various constitutional posts (President, Governor, Judges of the SC & High Courts, CAG etc.)

Third Schedule

- Articles: 75, 84, 99, 124, 146, 173, 188 & 219
- Forms of oaths or affirmations (Union ministers, MPs, Judges of the SC & High Courts, CAG etc.)

Fourth Schedule

- 9 Articles: 4 & 80
- Allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha

Fifth Schedule

- Article: 244
- Administration and Control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes

Sixth Schedule

- Articles: 244 & 275
- Administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura & Mizoram

Seventh Schedule

- 9 Article: 246
- Union List (98 subjects), State List (59 subjects),& Concurrent List (52 subjects)

Eighth Schedule

- 9 Articles: 344 & 351
- © 22 recognised languages by the Constitution

Ninth Schedule (1st Amendment Act, 1951)

- 9 Article: 31-B
- 9 Validation of certain acts and regulations

Tenth Schedule (52nd Amendment Act, 1985)

- 9 Articles: 102 & 191
- Anti-defection law

Eleventh Schedule (73rd Amendment Act, 1992)

- 9 Article: 243-G
- 9 Powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats

Twelfth Schedule (74th Amendment Act, 1992)

Article: 243-W

Powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities





Drishti IAS

Read More: Fifth Schedule, Sixth Schedule, Eighth Schedule, Ninth Schedule, Tenth Schedule

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/schedules-in-the-indian-constitution

