

Health Minister Dr. Chaudhary A announced Kayakalp Award

Why In News?

On July 10, 2023, Dr. Prabhuram Chaudhary, Minister of Public Health and Family Welfare of Madhya Pradesh announced the Kayakalp Award for the year 2023.

Key Points

- Giving information about the awards to all district hospitals, civil hospitals, community health centers and primary health centers through video conferencing, Dr. Chowdhary said that this year Kayakalp awards will be given to more than double the institutions as compared to last year.
- Health Minister Dr. Chaudhary said that in the year 2022, 395 organizations were given Kayakalp awards worth Rs 4 crore 50 lakh. This year, 778 institutions will be given Kayakalp awards worth Rs 6 crore 12 lakh.
- Out of the total award amount, 75 percent is used for the strengthening of the institution and 25 percent is given as incentive to the employees of the institutions.
- Health Minister Dr. Chaudhary announced the first Kayakalp award of Rs. 25 lakh each to District Hospital Anuppur and Ratlam jointly.
- 20 lakh to the first runner-up District Hospital Sehore and Rs 10 lakh to the second runner-up District Hospital Damoh.
- An award of Rs 10 lakh was announced for the best eco-friendly district hospital Vidisha.
- Community Health Center Ramnagar district Satna was declared the first prize of Rs 15 lakh in the category of civil hospital community health center and Rs 5 lakh for the best eco-friendly hospital.
- In the category of Civil Hospital/Community Health Center, it was announced to give the Runner Up Kayakalp Award of Rs 10 lakh to Community Health Center Jawar, District Sehore.
- It was announced to give the first Kayakalp award to 43 primary health centers of the state. These include primary health centers Kanad (Agar-Malwa), Ublar (Alirajpur), Bhanegaon (Balaghat), Bhavati (Barwani), Dehri Amdhana (Betul), Mihona (Bhind), Nazirabad (Bhopal), Nimbola (Burhanpur), Garhi-Malhara. (Chhatarpur), Mangurli (Chhindwara), Jerath (Damoh), Sonagir (Datia), Baijgwara (Dewas), Gadhasarsi (Dindori), Maqsudangarh (Guna), Chinor (Gwalior), Rahatgaon (Harda), Kshipra (Indore), Gosalpur (Jabalpur), Kakanwani (Jhabua), Purni (Khandwa), Karahi and Bangarda (Khargone), Samanpur (Mandla), Takkarwad (Mandsaur), Sumavali (Morena), Semri Harchand (Narmadapuram), Singpur (Narsinghpur), Diken (Neemuch), Deonagar (Raisen), Machhalpur (Rajgarh), Dharar (Ratlam), Rehat (Rewa), Jaitwara (Satna), Veerpur Dam (Sehore), Palari (Seoni), Tehki (Shahdol), Maksi (Shajapur), Durgapuri (Sheopur), Lukwasa (Shivpuri), Unhel (Ujjain), Karkeli (Umaria) and Primary Health Center Gulabganj (Vidisha).
- Chief Minister Sanjivani Clinic Piplani (Bhopal), Subhash Nagar (Indore), Gol Paharia (Gwalior), Etawah (Dewas) from Ujjain division, Polipathar (Jabalpur) in Jabalpur division, Rewa division for the first prize at divisional level in urban health center the award was announced for Urban Community Health Center Makronia from Hanuman Nagar (Satna) and Sagar division.
- In the Health and Wellness Center category, 30 institutions were declared winners. These include Raipur (Bhopal), Panwari (Chhatarpur), Gadhaghat (Jabalpur), Kuchwahi (Sidhi), Pichodi (Barwani), Bandikhurd (Shahdol), Kajlana (Indore), Chipon (Guna), Amlai (Anuppur), Biladhana (Vidisha), Nanhi Tehri (Tikamgarh), Chandia (Umaria), Bagwara (Sehore), Barkheda Setu (Raisen), Gorhi (Satna), Seji (Ashoknagar), Nigori (Dindori), Panjara kalan (Narmadapuram), Ahmedpur Khaigaon

- (Khandwa), Hirankherni and the award was announced for Botalganj (Mandsaur).
- In addition to the winning institutions, it was also announced to give consolation prizes to the institutions scoring more than 70 percent as per the criteria.
- It is worth mentioning that the Kayakalp Award is an important link in the series of efforts to strengthen the health institutions in the state and provide better health services to the citizens. In the sequence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Swachh Bharat Mission, Kayakalp Awards were started from the year 2015 for maintaining cleanliness in health institutions and improving the quality of services in the state.
- The numbers are given to the health institutions according to the prescribed criteria after checking by a team of experts to maintain cleanliness in the premises of the hospitals and the quality of providing health services. The hospital with the highest marks is selected for the first prize.
- Kayakalp Awards are given in 5 categories of District Hospital, Civil/Community Health Center, Primary Health Center, Urban Health Center, Health and Wellness Center.



PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/health-minister-dr-chaudhary-a-announced-kayakalp-award