

India Won the 2024 T20 World Cup

Source: HT

Why in News?

Recently, India secured their **first ICC title since the 2013 Champions Trophy** by winning the ICC T20 World Cup in Barbados.

• This victory was seen as the end of a drought in major ICC tournaments.



How has the Journey of the T20 World Cup been Over the Years?

- About:
 - The T20 World Cup, first played in 2007, is an international cricket championship, usually held once every two years.
 - While the T20 World Cup began as a 12-team competition in 2007, it was expanded to 16 teams from the 2014 edition.
 - The 2024 edition had 20 sides competing in four groups.
- India's Journey Over the Years:
 - India won the **first men's Twenty20 World Cup** in South Africa, defeating Pakistan in the final led by MS Dhoni.
 - India **finished runners-up in 2014**, losing to Sri Lanka in the final.
- Winners:

- Teams to win two T20 WCs
 - India (2007 & 2024)
 - West Indies (2012 & 2016)
 - England (2010 & 2022)

• With the 2022 victory, **England** became the **first team** to simultaneously hold both men's World Cups - **the 2019 ODI World Cup and the 2022 T20 World Cup.**

T20 World Cup winners list

Year	Winner	Runners-Up	Hosts	
2007	India	Pakistan	South Africa	
2009	Pakistan	Sri Lanka	England	
2010	England	Australia	West Indies	
2012	West Indies	Sri Lanka	Sri Lanka	
2014	Sri Lanka	India	Bangladesh	
2016	West Indies	England	India	
2021	Australia	New Zealand	UAE and Oman	
2022	England	Pakistan	Australia	
2024	India	South Africa	USA and West Indies	

Individual Feats of 2024 Cup:

- India's **Virat Kohli** is the **leading run-getter** in the T20 World Cup history with 1292 runs in 35 matches, since his debut in 2012.
- Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is the top wicket-taker in the T20 World Cup, recording 50 scalps in 43 matches between 2007 and 2024.
- Key Highlights of the 2024 T20 Final:
 - Player of the Match: Virat Kohli
 - Player of the Tournament: Jasprit Bumrah
 - Most wickets in a T20 WC Edition:
 - 17 Arshdeep Singh (IND, 2024)
 - 17 Fazalhaq Farooqi (AFG, 2024)
 - Lowest Economy Rate in a T20 WC Edition:
 - 4.17 Jasprit Bumrah (2024)
 - Only the 3rd time a team won the T20 WC final while defending the target after India in 2007 and West Indies in 2012.
 - India became the **first team** to win a T20 World Cup by being **unbeaten through** the **tournament.**
 - Post World Cup win, three Indian players namely, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Ravindra Jadeja have announced their retirement from T20 internationals.
 - BCCI, the cricket governing body of India has announced Rs 125 crore prize money for Team India after the T20 World Cup win.

UPSC Civil Services Examination, Previous Year Question (PYQ)

<u>Prelims:</u>

Q. Consider the following statements in respect of the Laureus World Sports Award which was instituted in the year 2000: (2021)

- 1. American golfer Tiger Woods was the first winner of this award.
- 2. The award was received mostly by 'Formula One' players so far.
- 3. Roger Federer received this award maximum number of times compared to others.

Which of the above statements are correct?

(a) 1 and 2 only

- (b) 2 and 3 only
- (c) 1 and 3 only
- (d) 1, 2 and 3
- Ans: (c)

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtlias.com/printpdf/india-won-the-2024-t20-world-cup