

National Security Council

Source: FE

Why in News?

Deputy National Security Adviser (NSA) Rajinder Khanna has been appointed as the **additional NSA**. This is the first time the additional NSA post has been filled, a position that has always existed but remained vacant until now.

 Additionally, <u>Intelligence Bureau</u> special director T.V. Ravichandran has been appointed as deputy NSA.

What is the Organisational Structure of the National Security Council?

- Establishment: The NSC was established in 1998 by the government of then Prime Minister <u>Atal</u>
 <u>Bihari Vajpayee</u> following <u>nuclear tests</u> by India and Pakistan. It is the apex body for national security management in India.
 - Prior to the formation of the NSC, the functions related to national security were carried out by the Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister.
 - It operates under a three-tier structure i.e. Strategic Policy Group (SPG), National Security Advisory Board (NSAB) and National Security Council Secretariat (NSCS).
- Three-tier Structure of NSC:
 - Strategic Policy Group (SPG): The SPG is chaired by the Cabinet Secretary, consisting
 of serving senior officials responsible for policy-making and for follow up action in matters
 concerning national security.
 - It includes the <u>Chiefs of the Armed Forces</u>, the Intelligence Bureau and the Research and <u>Analysis Wing (R&AW)</u>. Its main task is to make policy recommendations to the NSC.
 - National Security Advisory Board (NSAB): It includes senior retired officials, academics, and experts from civil society.
 - It provides long-term analysis and policy recommendations on national security issues to the NSC, covering areas like Internal and External Security, Foreign Affairs, Defence, Science & Technology, and Economic Affairs.
 - National Security Council Secretariat (NSCS): It is overseen by the Prime Minister, operates with NSA as its secretary, and serves as the apex body for all matters concerning internal and external security.
- Heads: The NSC is headed by the Prime Minister of India. The NSA acts as the secretary
 of the NSC and also as the primary advisor to the prime minister. The headquarters of
 the NSC is located in New Delhi.
 - Ajit Doval is the current NSA, serving a third term. He is the longest-serving NSA in India's

history, with a tenure of over $10\ \text{years}$. Brajesh Mishra served as the country's first NSA.

- The <u>Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC)</u> in India appoints top government positions. It is chaired by the **Prime Minister and the Minister of Home Affairs.**
 - The committee processes proposals for senior government appointments and makes decisions on positions such as the **National Security Advisor**.
- NSC Members: Besides the NSA, it includes Deputy NSA and additional NSA, Ministers of Defence, External Affairs, Home Affairs, and Finance of the Government of India, and the Vice Chairman of the <u>NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India)</u>. Additional officials may be invited to monthly meetings as needed.

