

Inauguration of 7th Postal Division of the State

Why in News

On March 3, 2022, Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Renuka Singh and Panchayat and Rural Development Minister T.S. Singhdeo inaugurated the Surguja postal division as the 7th postal division of the state.

Key Points

- Surguja, Surajpur, Koriya and Balrampur-Ramanujganj districts are included under Surguja postal division. One Head Post Office, 35 Sub Post Offices and 305 Branch Post Offices will operate under the division.
- Earlier, being Raigad postal division, people had to travel long distances to Raigad, which consumed both time and money. With the formation of the Surguja postal division, the officersemployees of the division and the general public will get convenience.
- Soon the air service will also start from Maa Mahamaya airport.
- Mayor Dr. Ajay Tirkey said that now people will get more facilities and better implementation of the schemes of the government will be done.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/inauguration-of-7th-postal-division-of-the-state