

Announcement of Making Korea-Raigarh a Division

Why in News?

On November 13, 2023, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, while addressing the general meeting at Mauhari Ground in Baikunthpur of Korea District Headquarters, announced the making of Korea and Raigarh as divisions.

Key Points

- Along with announcing the creation of two new divisions in Chhattisgarh, Chief Minister Baghel has
 also placed a condition on the people of the state. CM has said that if Congress government is
 formed, two new divisions will be created in the state.
- It may be noted that Congress candidate from Baikunthpur, Ambika Singhdev had demanded from Chief Minister Baghel to make Baikunthpur a division. After this, Bhupesh Baghel has announced two new divisions.
- It is noteworthy that at present there are 5 divisions in the state Raipur, Bilaspur, Durg, Bastar and Surguja. Raipur (1862) is the oldest division while Durg (2013) is the newest division. Surguja (2008) is the first division formed after the formation of Chhattisgarh state.



PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/announcement-of-making-korea-raigarh-a-division