

Chief Minister honored 75 players of Gorakhpur Division

Why in News

• On August 13, 2021, **Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath** honored 75 players of the Gorakhpur division at Digvijaynath Smriti Bhawan auditorium of Gorakshanath temple in district Gorakhpur.

Key Points

- International wrestler Amarnath Yadav, international shooter Gajendra Rai, national-level table tennis player Ms. Shagun Kumari, national-level hockey player Ms. Muskan Paswan, gymnast Vivek Yadav, weightlifter Vikas Chauhan, state-level swimmer Saurabh Shukla, national-level basketball player Ms. Kshama Gupta and handball player Ms. Mukta Tiwari are prominently involved.
- On this occasion, the Chief Minister talked about organizing a program in Lucknow to reward the medal winners in the Tokyo Olympics.
- In this program, Rs 2 crore to the gold medalist, Rs 1.5 crore to the silver medalist, Rs 1 crore to the bronze medalist, Rs 1 crore to each player of the men's hockey team, and Rs 50 lakh to each player of the women's hockey team.
- Sports coaches will also be honored in this event. Along with this, 75-75 players from all 75 districts of the state will also be specially invited.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/chief-minister-honored-75-players-of-gorakhpur-division