

## Bhajan Lal Sharma will be the new Chief Minister of Rajasthan

## Why In News?

Bhajan Lal Sharma, MLA from Sanganer seat of Jaipur, was elected as the new Chief Minister of Rajasthan in the Rajasthan BJP Legislature Party meeting on December 12, 2023 in the presence of observers appointed by the Bharatiya Janata Party central leadership.

## **Key Points**

- Vasundhara Raje had proposed the name of Bhajan Lal Sharma in the legislature party meeting in the presence of Union Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Vinod Tawde and Saroj Pandey, who were sent as observers to Rajasthan.
- In the legislative party meeting, MLA Diya Kumari from Vidyadhar Nagar seat of Jaipur and Prem Chandra Bairwa, MLA from Dudu seat of Jaipur, were elected as Deputy Chief Ministers. Vasudev Devnani, who became MLA from Ajmer North for the fifth consecutive time, will be made the speaker of the assembly.
- After being elected the new Chief Minister of Rajasthan, Bhajan Lal Sharma has met Governor Kalraj Mishra and staked claim to form the government. The new government will take oath on 15 December.
- 56 year old Bhajan Lal Sharma is an MLA from Sanganer Assembly seat and after becoming an MLA for the 1<sup>st</sup> time, he will now be the Chief Minister of Rajasthan. He is also the state general secretary of BJP.
- It is worth mentioning that since independence, there have been 13 Chief Ministers in Rajasthan.
  Bhajan Lal Sharma will be the 14<sup>th</sup> Chief Minister.
- The record of serving as Chief Minister for the longest period in Rajasthan is held in the name of Ashok Gehlot. He has been the Chief Minister for 15 consecutive years. Mohanlal Sukhadia has been at 2<sup>nd</sup> place in the longest tenure.
- Governments have been formed in Rajasthan 25 times since 1949, out of which Congress has formed 20 times, BJP 4 times and Janata Party once. BJP is now going to take power for the fifth time. Till now, President's rule has been imposed in the state thrice.

Ш



