

6 Engineering Colleges of Garhwal and Kumaon to be Technical University Campus

Why in News?

According to the information received from the media on 19 April 2023, under the Department of Technical Education, the cabinet approved the proposal to operate six engineering colleges and institutes of Garhwal and Kumaon divisions as campus colleges under Veer Madho Singh Bhandari Uttarakhand Technical University, Dehradun.

Key Points

- According to the cabinet proposal, Technical Institute Gopeshwar, Women's Technical Institute
 Dehradun, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Technical Institute Tanakpur, Nanhi Pari Frontier Technical Institute
 Pithoragarh, THDC, IHET New Tehri and Bonn Engineering College, Uttarkashi will be made a
 campus college of Technical University under certain conditions on the basis of where it is.
- It was said in the cabinet meeting that financial assistance from the state government will not be provided to all self-financed institutions after the campus is built. BOG will continue to function as before in all self-financed institutions.
- It is known that Veer Madho Singh Bhandari Uttarakhand Technical University, Dehradun was established on 27 January 2005 by the Government of Uttarakhand through the Uttarakhand Technical University Act 2005. It is the only affiliated university in the state for technical institutions.



PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/6-engineering-colleges-of-garhwal-and-kumaon-to-be-technical-university-campus