

Major Ports in India



- O Ports in India are classified as **Major** and **Minor Ports** according to the jurisdiction of the Central and State government as defined under the **Indian Ports Act**, **1908** i.e. Major Ports are owned and managed by the Central Government and Minor ports are owned and managed by the State Governments.
- The Major Port Authorities Act, 2021 provides for regulation, operation and planning of major ports in India and provide greater autonomy to these ports. It replaced the Major Port Trusts Act, 1963.
- O There are 12 major ports. 13th Major Port (under construction) is Vadhavan port, Maharashtra.

