

## **Vasundhara Samman**

## Why in News

• On 14 August 2021, **Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel** honored well-known **writer Satish Jaiswal** with the 21<sup>st</sup> Vasundhara Samman at a function held at his residence office.

## **Key Points**

- The function was organized by Lok Jagran's monthly magazine 'Vasundhara' on the occasion of the 45<sup>th</sup> death anniversary of Gandhian Gramsevak Late Devi Prasad Choubey.
- Culture Minister Amarjeet Bhagat presided over this function organized in collaboration with Chhattisgarh Government's Culture Department and Shri Chaturbhuj Memorial Foundation.
- The **58**<sup>th</sup> issue of the monthly magazine 'Vasundhara' of 'Lok Jagran' and the **109**<sup>th</sup> issue of 'Bahumat', a monthly magazine of art, literature, and culture, was also launched in the ceremony. This issue of Vasundhara focuses on representative stories of 11 story writers of Chhattisgarh.
- Vasundhara Samman, continuing since 2001, till now has been given to, Sarvshree Ramesh Nayar, Kumar Sahu, Shyamlal Chaturvedi, Basant Kumar Tiwari, Baban Prasad Mishra, Diwakar Muktibodh, Asha Shukla, Sharad Kothari, Girija Shankar, Himanshu Dwivedi, Vinod Shankar Shukla, Gyan Awasthi, Shyam Vetal, Abhay Kishore, Girish Pankaj, Sushil Trivedi, B.K.S.Ray, Prakash Dubey, Tushar Kanti Bose and E.V. Murali.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/vasundhara-samman