Parakram Diwas 2024

For Prelims: Parakram Diwas, Bharat Pary, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar-2024, Vivekananda's teachings.

For Mains: Parakram Diwas 2024, Modern Indian history from about the middle of the eighteenth century until the present – significant events, personalities, and issues.

Source: HT

Why in News?

Recently, the Prime Minister (PM) of India has participated in Parakram Diwas (23rd January 2024). **Celebrations** at Red Fort to mark the birth anniversary of **Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.**

- The PM has also launched <u>Bharat Parv</u> (organised by the Ministry of Tourism), a nine-day event to showcase India's rich diversity and exhibit different cultures.
- On the Occasion of Parakram Diwas, the Centre has announced <u>Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda</u> <u>Prabandhan Puraskar</u>-2024, to honor the invaluable contribution rendered by individuals and organisations in the field of Disaster Management.

What is Parakram Diwas?

- Initiated in 2021, Parakram Diwas is an annual celebration in India commemorating the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.
- The term "Parakram" translates to courage or valour in Hindi, reflecting the strong and courageous spirit of Netaji and those who fought for India's freedom.
- The celebrations typically include various events and activities that highlight the historical significance of Netaji's role in the freedom struggle.
- The comprehensive celebration is being organised by the Ministry of Culture in collaboration with its allied institutions such as the <u>Archaeological Survey of India</u>, National School of Drama, Sahitya Akademi, and the National Archives of India.
- As part of the program, the event will host a rich array of activities that delve into the profound legacy of **Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose and the Azad Hind Fauj.**
 - Marking Netaji's 125th birth anniversary, in 2022, the hologram was installed, near India Gate, where a statue of King George V had stood till its removal in 1968.
 - Later the <u>hologram of Netaji replaced by a grand statue</u> on 8th September 2022 near India Gate in New Delhi.



What is Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar?

- Field Recognised:
 - The Government of India instituted Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskaar (SCBAPP) to recognise the excellent work done by the individuals and institutions in the field of disaster management.
- Administered By:
 - **National Disaster Management Authority** (NDMA was established under the Ministry of Home Affairs under the Disaster Management Act, 2005).
- Award:
 - The awards are announced on the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose on 23rd January every year.
 - In addition to a certificate, these awards carry a cash award of Rs. 51 lakhs for an Institution and Rs. 5 lakhs for an Individual.
 - The Institution has to utilize the cash prize for Disaster Management related activities only.
- Eligibility:
 - $\circ\,$ Only Indian nationals and Indian institutions can apply for the award.
 - The nominated individual or institution should have worked in any area of disaster management like Prevention, Mitigation, Preparedness, Rescue, Response, Relief, Rehabilitation, Research, Innovation or early warning in India.
- SCBAPP- 2024: The 60 Parachute Field Hospital, Uttar Pradesh, has been selected for the Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar-2024 for its excellent work in disaster management, particularly in providing medical assistance during various natural calamities and crises, both nationally and internationally.

 The hospital's work during events like the Uttarakhand floods (2013), Nepal Earthquake (2015), and the Turkey and Syria earthquake (2023) is highlighted as examples of its exceptional service.

UPSC Civil Services Examination, Previous Year Question (PYQ)

<u>Prelims:</u>

Q1. In the context of Colonial India, Shah Nawaz Khan, Prem Kumar Sehgal and Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon are remembered as (2021)

- (a) leaders of Swadeshi and Boycott Movement
- (b) members of the Interim Government in 1946
- (c) members of the Drafting Committee in the Constituent Assembly
- (d) officers of the Indian National Army

Ans: (d)

- Prem Kumar Sehgal, Shah Nawaz Khan and Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon were the second-tier commanders of the Indian National Army (INA). They underwent court-martial procedure by the British at Red Fort in 1945 and were sentenced to death. However, following the widespread protests and unrest in India, they had to be released.
- Therefore, option (d) is the correct answer.

Q2. During the Indian Freedom Struggle, who of the following raised an army called 'Free Indian Legion'? (2008)

- (a) Lala Hardayal
- (**b)** Rashbehari Bose
- (c) Subhas Chandra Bose
- (d) V.D. Savarkar

Ans: (c)

- The Free Indian Legion was an infantry regiment formed by Indian volunteers. The legion was
 made up of Indian prisoners of wars and expatriates in Europe.
- The Indian Independence leader, Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose formed this legion with the help of German Government to fight against the British.
- The legion is also known as "Tiger Legion".
- Therefore, option (c) is the correct answer.

<u>Mains:</u>

Q. Highlight the difference in the approach of Subhash Chandra Bose and Mahatma Gandhi in the struggle for freedom. **(2016)**

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/parakram-diwas-2024