

Cyber crime police stations will be opened in 57 districts of the state

Why in News?

In the cabinet meeting held at Lok Bhavan under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on December 19, 2023, the proposal to establish cyber crime police stations in 57 districts of the state was approved.

Key Points

- In view of the increasing cases of cyber crime in Uttar Pradesh, the Yogi government has taken this big decision. With this decision, cyber crime stations will be present in all the districts of the state.
- At present, cyber crime stations are present in all the 18 divisional headquarters of the state. Till now, an IG level officer used to look after these police stations, but after the establishment of cyber crime stations in all the districts, the Superintendent of Police will take up the responsibility.
- Giving information about the decisions of the Cabinet in the media centre of Lok Bhavan, Finance and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Suresh Khanna said that with the establishment of cyber crime stations in 57 districts, not only cyber crime will be monitored but effective action will also be possible on it.
- He said that Uttar Pradesh ranks first in the country in terms of conviction in cyber crime. The state's conviction rate is 87.8 percent, which is much better than the national cyber crime conviction rate of 46.5 percent.
- So far, there have been 838 convictions in Uttar Pradesh, whereas in second place Madhya Pradesh, there have been only 59 convictions. 7122 criminal arrests have been made in Uttar Pradesh, while 2582 criminal arrests have been made in Maharashtra. 10,117 cases have been registered in Uttar Pradesh in 2022.
 - Cyber crime police stations will be established in these districts: Mathura, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Jaunpur, Hamirpur, Mahoba, Sonbhadra, Rae Bareli, Sitapur, Hardoi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Kanpur Dehat, Etawah, Deoria, Kushinagar, Balrampur, Shravasti, Fatehgarh, Kannauj, Auraiya., Meerut, Ghaziabad, Bulandshahr, Baghpat, Hapur, Sultanpur, Barabanki, Maharajganj, Amethi, Ambedkarnagar, Etah, Hathras, Kasganj, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Mau, Bahraich, Unnao, Badaun, Shahjahanpur, Pilibhit, Rampur, Bijnor, Amroha, Sambhal., Bhadohi, Ballia, Siddharthnagar, Sant Kabirnagar, Lalitpur, Jalaun, Muzaffarnagar, Shamli, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Kaushambi and Chitrakoot.

 $I\!I$



