

Amrit Bharat Station Scheme

Why in News?

On August 6, 2023, Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone for the redevelopment works of 508 railway stations in the country through video conferencing under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme. These include 49 railway stations of Bihar.

Key Points:

- It may be noted that in the first phase of this ambitious Amrit Bharat station scheme, a total of 49 railway stations in Bihar will be redeveloped.
- The foundation stone of two stations (Darbhanga and Sakri station) under the Darbhanga parliamentary constituency was laid through the virtual medium of the Prime Minister under the scheme. Darbhanga railway station will be developed as a world class station at a cost of 340 crores and Sakri station will be redeveloped at a cost of 18.9 crores.
- Under this scheme, a six-storey building (G+5) will be constructed in the western direction of the station. On the other hand, a (G+2) i.e. three-storey building will be constructed in the eastern direction, in which state-of-the-art facilities will be provided for the passengers.
- Naugachia railway station of Katihar-Barauni railway section, which is included in 1275 stations
 across the country, will also be rejuvenated under the Amrit Bharat station scheme. Railway
 stations of the first phase also include Naugachia, Pirpainti, Kahalgaon, Sultangani of Bhagalpur.
- It is worth mentioning that modern facilities like wide concourse, foot over bridge, lift, escalator, waiting room, commercial area and retail counter etc. will be provided at these stations to be redeveloped under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme.
- The plan envisages multimodal transport. Passenger amenities at other minor stations will also be upgraded and will be provided with facilities like widened FOBs, frontage improvements, waiting areas, lifts, escalators etc.
- These stations of Bihar will be rejuvenated-
- Anugrah Narayan Road (Aurangabad), Lakhminia, Salona (Begusarai), Kahalgaon, Naugachia, Pirpainti, Sultanganj (Bhagalpur), Arrah, Bihiya (Bhojpur), Dumraon, Raghurnathpur (Buxar), Darbhanga Junction (Darbhanga), Gaya Junction, Paharpur (Gaya), Jamui, Simtalla (Jamui), Jehanabad, Bhabua Road, Durgauti, Kudra (Kaimur (Bhabhua)), Barsoi Junction (Katihar), Khagaria Junction, Mansi (Khagaria), Kishanganj, Thakurganj (Kishanganj), Jaynagar, Madhubani, Sankri (Mudhubani), Jamalpur Junction (Munger), Dholi, Muzaffarpur Junction, Ramdayalu Nagar (Muzaffarpur), Bihar Sharif, Rajgir (Nalanda), Narkatiaganj Junction, Sugauli (West Champaran), Bakhtiyarpur, Badh, Fatuha, Taregna (Patna), BapuDham Motihari (East Champaran), Banmankhi (Purnia), Rohtas, Sasaram (Rohtas), Saharsa (Saharsa), Dalsingh Sarai, Samastipur, Sonpur Junction (Saran), Sitamarhi and Hajipur Junction (Vaishali).



