

PM Lays Foundation Stone for Redevelopment of Train Stations | Chhattisgarh | 27 Feb 2024

Why in News?

Under the <u>Amrit Bharat Station Scheme</u>, Prime Minister Narendra Modi virtually inaugurated and laid the foundation stones for several railway projects, including redevelopment of 21 stations and 83 road over/under bridges in Chhattisgarh.

Key Points

- According to the South East Central Railway (SECR), the PM inaugurated and laid the foundation stones of a total of 2,000 railway infrastructure projects worth Rs 41,000 crore across the country via video conferencing.
- Of these stations, 21 fall in Chhattisgarh- Korba, Raigarh, Rajnandgaon, Sarona, Bhatapara, Dongargarh, Bhilainagar, Hathbandh, Bilha, Baikunthpur Road, Ambikapur, Uslapur, Pendra Road, Janjgir Naila, Champa, Baradwar, Dalli Rajhara, Bhanupratappur, Nipania, Mandir Hasaud and Bhilai.
 - Belpahar and Brajrajnagar in Odisha, Shahdol, Umaria, Anuppur, Bijuri, Mandla Fort, Balaghat, Nainpur, Chhindwara and Seoni in Madhya Pradesh and Itwari, Kamptee, Amgaon, Bhandara Road and Tumsar Road in Maharashtra.

Amrit Bharat Stations Scheme

- The Amrit Bharat Station Scheme aims to redevelop 1309 stations nationwide.
- The redevelopment will provide modern passenger amenities along with ensuring well-designed traffic circulation, inter-modal integration, and signage for the guidance of passengers.
- The Scheme was launched in **February 2023 by the Ministry of Railways.**

South East Central Railway (SECR)

- The zone came into existence on 1 April 2003, following the bifurcation of the South Eastern Railway.
- It is headquartered in Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh, and comprises three divisions: Bilaspur, Raipur, and Nagpur.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/01-03-2024/chhatisgarh/print