

Rajasthan Sahitya Academy Award 2022-23

Why in News?

On 19 May 2023, Art Literature and Culture Minister of Rajasthan B. D. Kalla honoured litterateurs for their invaluable contribution to the field of music, art and literature at Rajasthan Sahitya Academy's annual award ceremony 2022-23.

Key Points:

- Rajasthan Sahitya Academy's annual award-honouring ceremony was held at Bhagwat Singh Mehta Auditorium of Harishchandra Mathur Rajasthan State Institute of Public Administration (OTS).
- Meera Award, Rangeya Raghav Award, Sudhindra Award, Devilal Samar Award, Devraj Upadhyay Award, Kanhaiyalal Sahal Award, Shambhu Dayal Saxena Award, Sumnesh Joshi Award, Pardeshi Award, Chandradev Sharma Award and Sudha Gupta Award were distributed in the ceremony.
- On this occasion, many eminent litterateurs of the state were also honoured with the special litterateur honour.
- Farooq Afridi, a special officer of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, was also honoured with the Distinguished Writer Award for his significant contribution to the field of literature.
- These writers were awarded-
 - Under the annual awards for 2022-23, the Rangeya Raghav Award given in the fiction and the novel genre was given to Banswara resident Bharat Chandra Sharma for his novel 'Pir Parbat-Si'.
 - The Sudhindra Award for poetry was given to poet Mayamrig of Jaipur for his collection of poems 'Mujhme Meetha Tu Hain' and the Devi Lal Samar Award for one-act play was given to Jaipur resident Ajay Anuragi for his play 'Wrong Number'.
 - The prestigious Devraj Upadhyay Award in the field of criticism was given to Rajaram Bhadu of Bharatpur origin for his work of criticism 'Kavita ke Ayaam' and the Kanhaiyalal Sahal Award for various genres was given to Jaipur's satirist Yash Goyal for his work 'Namumkin Neta'.
 - Shambhu Dayal Saxena Award in the field of children's literature was given to Kusum Agarwal of Kankroli for her book 'Hum Sab Ek Hain'.
 - The prestigious Meera Award was presented to Rati Saxena for her work 'Hasee Ek Prarthana Ke Liye'.
 - All these awards are worth Rs. 31,000.
 - The first published work amounting to Rs. 21,000, Sumnesh Joshi Award was given to Udaipur resident story writer Tarana Parveen for her story collection 'Ek Sau Aath'.
- Emerging litterateurs were also honoured by the Academy
- School Level Pardeshi Award
- For poetry Pracha Sharma of Maharani Gayatri Devi Girls' School, Jaipur for 'Sagar Moti and other poems,
- For the story- Divya Sanap of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Pallu-Hanumangarh for the story 'Khushi ke Aansoo',
- For Essay Harshita Meena of Raumavi Amarpura-Udaipur for essay on 'Navachaaron ka Udbhav'
- For short story Awarded for the short story 'Asli Taqat' by Armaan Nadeem of Government Sardul Umavi Bikaner.
- College Level Chandra Dev Sharma Award

- For poetry Himanshu Bhardwaj of Government Lohia College, Churu for 'Spriha and other poems,
- For story- Nirmala Sharma of Twenty-One College Gopalyan-Lunkaransar for the story 'Koi Chara Nahi'.
- For one act Tanishka Padihar of Maa Jalpa Devi Government College, Taranagar for one act 'Jago Pyare, Jago',
- For Essay- Maina Kanwar of Sona Devi Sethia Girls College, Sujangarh was given for the essay 'Vigat aur Sambhavnaye'.
- Sudha Gupta College Level Poetry Award was given to Suraj Kumari of Women's Post Graduate College, Jodhpur for 'Prakriti ki Awaz and other poems'.
- It is worth mentioning that under all the above awards, Rs. 5,000 are given per award.



PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/rajasthan-sahitya-academy-award-2022-23