

Senior journalist-writer Sudhir Saxena to be honoured with Vasundhara Samman | Chhattisgarh | 05 Aug 2023

Why in News?

According to the information received from Chhattisgarh Public Relations Department on August 3, 2023, Vasundhara Samman, established in the memory of Late Deviprasad Choubey and given for public awareness, will be given to senior journalist-writer Sudhir Saxena this year.

Key Points:

- This will be the 23rd continuous event of Vasundhara Samman. The felicitation ceremony will be held on August 14, 2023 at the Chief Minister's residence, Raipur, on the occasion of the 47th death anniversary of Late Devi Prasad Choubey. Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel will honor Sudhir Saxena with Vasundhara Samman.
- The members of the jury formed under the chairmanship of journalist Diwakar Muktibodh are Girish Pankaj, E. V. Murali, Sameer Diwan, Rajesh Ganodwale, Raghvendra Pratap Singh, Vasundhara Samman convenor Vinod Mishra, organizing committee chairman Dr. Arun Kumar Srivastava and Secretary Mumtaz have jointly informed about this decision.
- According to the information received from the jury, Sudhir Saxena is a journalist of national repute, who has contributed significantly to the journalism of Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh.
- From 1978 till today, he has written extensively in various journals like Dharma Yuga, Dinman, Sunday, Kalpana, Sunday Observer, Jan Satta, Navbharat Times, Amar Ujala, Dainik Jagran, Dainik Bhaskar, Navbharat, Nai Duniya, Patrika, Deshbandhu, Maya, Wagarth, Pahal, Majority, Akshara Parv, contemporary Indian literature, plural etc.
- Sudhir Saxena's 14 poetry collections, 11 books of translation in foreign and Indian languages, and other 18 books of non-fiction prose have been published.
- He has written extensively on the socio-political background of Chhattisgarh through books like Gandhi in Chhattisgarh, freedom struggles in Madhya Pradesh & Adivasi, Bhoomkal, Muktisangram in Chhattisgarh and Adivasi, Gundadhur Ek Yoddha.
- He has been honoured with many prestigious honours like Madhavrao Sapre Award, Pushkin Award, Vagishwari Award, Pramod Verma Award, and Shamsher Award. These days he is editing the fortnightly magazine 'Duniya In Dinon'.
- Over the years, Vasundhara Samman has been conferred with Late Ramesh Nayyar, Late Shyamlal Chaturvedi, Late Kumar Sahu, Late Basant Kumar Tiwari, Late Vinod Shankar Shukla, Late Sharad Kothari, Late Baban Prasad Mishra, Dr. Himanshu Dwivedi, Diwakar Muktibodh, Asha Shukla, Girijashankar, Gyan Awasthi, Shyam Vetal, Abhay Kishore, Dr. Sushil Trivedi, Girish Pankaj, B. K. S. Ray, Prakash Dubey and Late Tushar Kanti Bose E. V. Murali, Satish Jaiswal & Liladhar Mandloi.



PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/07-08-2023/chhatisgarh/print