

Bihar Government Constituted Several State Commissions _ | Bihar | 27 Jul 2023

Why In News?

On July 26, 2023, According to information received from the media, the Bihar government reconstituted several state commissions.

Key Points:

- Bihar State Women's Commission: Former MP Ashwamedh Devi has been made the chairperson of the State Women's Commission, while Prabhavati Manjhi of Jehanabad, Sujata Sumbrai of Siwan, Rabia Khatoon of Bhagalpur, Sunita Kushwaha of Gopalganj, Shweta Vishwas of Paliganj of Patna, Sulochana of Purnia are members. Devi and Saharsa's Prof. Geeta Yadav have been made a member of the State Women's Commission.
 - Social Welfare Department, Home Department and Bihar State Women and Child Development Corporation have been nominated as ex-officio members each.
 - According to the notification of the Social Welfare Department, the chairman and members
 of the commission will serve a maximum of three years from the date of
 nomination or till the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Will remain in office till that
 time
 - Samastipur has got the post of State Commission for Women for the second time. Prior to this, former MLA Manju Prakash has been the chairperson of the State Women's Commission.
 - Ashwamedh Devi has also been an MLA from Kalyanpur assembly constituency. She has been associated with the party since the time of Samta Party. She became a Member of Parliament for the first time after the Ujiarpur Lok Sabha constituency was formed. After this she contested several Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha elections, but lost.
- Bihar State Minorities Commission: The government has also reconstituted the Bihar State
 Minorities Commission. According to the departmental notification, former MLC Riyazul Haque
 alias Raju has been made the president and Naushad Alam of Kishanganj has been made the
 vice-president.
 - Muzaffar Hussain Rahi of Jehanabad, Mahtab Alam alias Kabul Ahmed of Rohtas, Iftekhar Ahmed alias Munna Tyagi of West Champaran, Dr. Iqbal Sami of Muzaffarpur, Afroza Khatoon of Nawada, Murtaza Ali Kaisar of Siwan and Mukesh Jain of Begusarai i.e. a total of seven members. have been nominated.
 - The tenure of the office bearers nominated as Chairman, Vice Chairman and members of the Commission will be for the next three years from July 25.
- Bihar State Madarsa Board: This board has been reconstituted for three years.
 Former Legislative Councilor Salim Parvez has been made the chairman of the board. Five exofficio members and the remaining seven members have been made in the total 13-member board.
 - The special members of the Madrasa Board include Mahboob Alam, Member of Legislative Assembly, Syed Ruknuddin Ahmed, Member of Legislative Council Khalid Anwar, Madrasa teacher Humayun Akhtar Tariq, Abdul Karim Ansari of Madhubani, Riazul Ansari of East Champaran and Shabbir Ahmed of Muzaffarpur.
 - Apart from this, ex-officio members include Director of Education in charge of Oriental Education, Director Arabic and Persian Post Graduate Studies and Research Institute, Patna, Principal of Madrasa Islamia Shamshul Hoda, Chairman of Bihar Sunni and Shia Waqf

Board.

- **Bihar Sanskrit Board:** Senior RJD leader and former **MLA Bhola Yadav** has been made the chairman of this board.
 - A total of twelve members have been nominated in this board for three years. It will
 have two ex-officio members and nine nominated members. The ex-officio members
 include the Director of Education for Sanskrit Education and a representative of the
 Sanskrit University.
 - The nominated members include MLA Vinay Kumar Chowdhary, Lalit Narayan Mandal, MLC Prem Chandra Mishra, RJD leader and Chittaranjan Gagan of Vaishali, Madan Sharma of Mokama, Ramsheesh Yadav of Madhubani, University Sanskrit teacher Acharya Siyaram Prasad Yadav, Narayan Mahto of Madhubani and Pratima Kumari of Patna is included.



PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/28-07-2023/bihar/print