

Dilip Jaiswal became Deputy Chief Whip in Bihar Legislative Council

Why In News?

On April 18, 2022, after the order of the Executive Chairman of the Bihar Legislative Council, Awadhesh Narayan Singh, a notification was issued to make Dilip Jaiswal Deputy Chief Whip and Neeraj Kumar and Reena Devi as Whip.

Key Points

- Chief Minister and Leader of the House Nitish Kumar nominated Dilip Jaiswal as Deputy Chief Whip and MLCs Neeraj Kumar and Reena Devi as Whips in the Legislative Council.
- Significantly, the Chief Whip and Whip is the political person who is responsible for the discipline and behavior of the party in the House. Usually the whip instructs the members of the party to stick with the party's view on the main issues, to vote on any issue in the House as per the directions of the party. Sometimes such situations and issues come up in the House, where the party fears the division of votes.
- The Chief Whip issues the whip so that the party members do not vote against the party line in the House. The party can take action for voting against the whip. No whip can be issued to the MPs and members of the Legislative Assembly to cast their votes in the election of the President.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/dilip-jaiswal-became-deputy-chief-whip-in-bihar-legislative-council