

Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chowki Becomes 29th District of Chhattisgarh | Chhattisgarh | 03 Sep 2022

Why in News?

On September 2, 2022, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel inaugurated the newly formed district
Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chowki as the 29th district of the state. He also unveiled the map of the district on the occasion.

Key Points

- In the district inauguration program, he performed bhoomi-pujan and dedicated work worth Rs.106 crore 27 lakh 95 thousand. In this, Bhoomi-Poojan of 42 works worth Rs 52 crore 16 lakh 8 thousand and inaugration of 12 works worth Rs 54 crore 11 lakh 87 thousand are included.
- Chief Minister Baghel congratulated the people of the district on this occasion and announced three crore rupees for the development of all the three blocks of the district.
- The newly formed district Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chowki has been carved out of Rajnandgaon district and created as a new administrative unit. The new district will be under Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chowki Durg division.
- A day before the inauguration of the district, a collector was also posted in Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chowki district. S Jayavardhan, a 2014 batch IAS officer, has been made the first collector, while Yeduvalli Akshay Kumar will be the first SP of the newly formed district.
- There are three tehsils in the newly formed district Ambagarh Chowki, Mohala and Manpur and three development blocks and Janpad Panchayat Ambagarh Chowki, Mohala and Manpur.
- The geographical area of the new district is 2 lakh 14 thousand 667 hectares. The total population here is 2 lakh 83 thousand 947, in which the total population of scheduled tribes is 1 lakh 79 thousand 662, which is 63.27 percent of the total population of the district.
- The number of Revenue Inspector Circle in the district is 13, the total number of Patwari Halka is 89, the number of Gram Panchayat is 185. The total number of police stations in the district is 9, Vidhan Sabha constituency is 2 and total polling stations are 497. The total number of villages in Naveen district is 499.
- Significantly, on August 15, 2021, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel had announced the formation of four new districts and 18 new tehsils. These include Mohla-Manpur, Sarangarh-Bilaigarh, Sakti and Manendragarh. After this, during the Khairagarh by-election, he announced the formation of another new district, Khairagarh-Chhuikhadan-Gandai.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/05-09-2022/chhatisgarh/print