

Devesh Chandra Thakur appointed chairman of Bihar Legislative Council | Bihar | 25 Aug 2022

Why In News?

 On August 24, 2022, JDU leader Devesh Chandra Thakur has been elected as the Chairman of the Bihar Legislative Council. Mahagathbandhan candidate Devesh Chandra Thakur was elected unopposed for the post of chairman.

Key Points

- Devesh Chandra Thakur has been elected as the Chairman of the Legislative Council in place of Executive Chairman Awadhesh Narayan Singh.
- Devesh Chandra Thakur had filed his nomination for the post of Bihar Legislative Council Chairman on August 24 as the Grand Alliance candidate.
- A special meeting was scheduled to be held on August 25 to elect the chairman of the Legislative Council, but the grand alliance candidate Devesh Chandra Thakur was elected unopposed as no candidate filed nomination from the opposition.
- Devesh Chandra Thakur has been the Minister of Disaster Management in Nitish Kumar's government, having won the election in 2002 as an independent candidate from Tirhut graduate constituency. He then joined JDU in 2004. He was nominated by JDU from Tirhut graduate constituency in 2008 and he managed to win the election and became a minister in the Nitish government.

Sahitya Akademi's Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2022 | Bihar | 25 Aug 2022

Why In News?

 On August 24, 2022, the Sahitya Akademi announced that the Akademi's Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2022 would be given to writers of 22 languages. It also includes two litterateurs from Bihar, Zafar Kamali and Dr. Virendra Jha.

Key Points

- Academy secretary K. Srinivas Rao said in a release that in the meeting of the Executive Board of the Akademi under the chairmanship of Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar, the President of the Sahitya Akademi, approval was given to the writers for the Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2022 and the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar.
- The Akademi has announced the Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2022 for writers in a total of 22 languages, while writers and writers in 23 languages will be given the Yuva Sahitya Puraskar.
- Zafar Kamali from Bihar's Siwan district has been selected for the award in Urdu language for

'Hauslon Ki Udaan', a collection of children's poetry published in 2020.

- At the same time, Dr. Virendra Jha has been announced for his Maithili Balkatha collection 'Udan-Chhu'.
- The Akademi secretary said that in the category of Bal Sahitya Puraskar, the award in Punjabi language is not being given this year, while the award in Santhali language will be announced later. At the same time, in the category of Youth Award, the winner will be announced later in Marathi.
- The selected authors will be given an engraved copper plaque and a sum of Rs 50,000 as prize money.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/26-08-2022/bihar/print