

Dhami Takes Oath as Member of Legislative Assembly | Uttarakhand | 14 Jun 2022

Why in News?

• On June 13, 2022, Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami took the oath of assembly membership. Speaker Ritu Khanduri Bhushan administered the oath to him at the Assembly Building.

Key Points

- Chief Minister Dhami, who won the by-election to Champawat assembly seat by a record vote percentage on June 3, 2022, has become an MLA for the third time.
- In the Assembly elections held in March, 2022, the BJP had won 47 of the 60 seats with a thumping majority, but Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost his Khatima assembly seat to Congress candidate Bhuvan Kapri.
- Champawat MLA Kailash Chand Gahtori had resigned and vacated the seat for Chief Minister Dhami after losing the Khatima assembly elections.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/15-06-2022/uttarakhand/print