

Rajya Sabha Elections, 2022 | Madhya Pradesh | 04 Jun 2022

Why in News?

• On June 3, 2022, the Returning Officer of Madhya Pradesh declared candidates of all the three Rajya Sabha seats elected unopposed for the biennial elections.

Key Points

- The elected members include Kavita Patidar, Sumitra Balmik of the BJP and Vivek Krishna Tankha of the Indian National Congress.
- These members have been declared elected unopposed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961 .
- The three Members of the Rajya Sabha will replace the three members who are retiring on 29th June, 2022 at the expiry of their term of office.
- The maximum number of members of the Rajya Sabha is 250, of which 238 members are elected indirectly from states and Union Territories and 12 are nominated by the President.
- The current strength in the House is 245. 229 members represent member states, 4 members represent Union Territories and 12 are nominated by the President.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/06-06-2022/madhya-pradesh/print