

12th Senior National Women's Hockey Championship, 2022 | Madhya Pradesh | 07 May 2022

Why In News?

 Madhya Pradesh Sports and Youth Welfare Minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia on May 6, 2022, inaugurated the 12th Senior National Women's Hockey Championship, 2022 in Bhopal.

Key Point

- It is to be noted that 27 teams from the country including hosts Madhya Pradesh are participating in this championship. This includes Chandigarh, Bihar, Haryana, Assam, Bengal, Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Tripura, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, Puducherry, Karnataka, Teams from Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Kerala, Telangana, Odisha and Himachal Pradesh are included.
- In the championship, these teams are divided into 8 pools. Pool-A includes Madhya Pradesh, Chandigarh and Bihar, Pool-B includes Haryana, Assam, Bengal.
- Pool-C includes Punjab, Chhattisgarh and Tripura and Pool-D includes Maharashtra, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.
- Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh and Puducherry have been placed in Pool-E, while Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar have been placed in Pool-F.
- Pool-G covers Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Goa and Gujarat, Pool-H includes Odisha, Telangana and Himachal Pradesh.
- The final match of the 12th Senior National Women's Hockey Championship, 2022 will be played on May 17.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/09-05-2022/madhya-pradesh/print