

Formation of New Government in Uttarakhand | Uttarakhand | 24 Mar 2022

Why in News?

 On 23 March 2022, Pushkar Singh Dhami took the oath of office and secrecy as the 12th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

Key Points

- Along with the Chief Minister, 8 cabinet ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Uttarakhand Governor Gurmeet Singh.
- The eight cabinet ministers who took oath include Satpal Maharaj, Dhan Singh Rawat, Subodh Uniyal, Ganesh Joshi, Saurabh Bahuguna, Chandan Ramdas, Rekha Arya and Premchand Agarwal.
- It is noteworthy that since the formation of Uttarakhand on November 9, 2000, this is the first time in the state that a political party has again formed the government in Uttarakhand.
- Significantly, in the 2022 assembly elections, the BJP has won 47 out of 70 assembly seats.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/28-03-2022/uttarakhand/print