

Yogi Adityanath: Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh For The Second Time In a Row

Why in News?

 On March 25, 2022, Yogi Adityanath took oath as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the second time at the 'Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Stadium' in Lucknow. Governor Anandiben Patel administered him the oath of office and secrecy.

Key Points

- A total of 52 people took oath as ministers, including 16 cabinet ministers, 14 ministers of state (independent charge), 20 ministers of state and 2 deputy chief ministers. Brajesh Pathak and Keshav Prasad Maurya took oath as Deputy Chief Ministers.
- 38 MLAs have been made ministers in Yogi's new cabinet. At the same time, 9 MLCs have also been made ministers. While there are 5 names which are neither MLAs nor MLCs. They will have to take membership of the House in the next 6 months.
- It is noteworthy that Yogi Adityanath is the first Chief Minister to be re-elected after completing one term in Uttar Pradesh in the last 37 years.
- It is to be noted that in the election results declared on March 10, 2022, the Bharatiya Janata Party along with its allies had won an absolute majority by winning 273 seats.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/yogi-adityanath-chief-minister-of-uttar-pradesh-for-the-second-time-in-a-row