

Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2022 | Uttarakhand | 11 Mar 2022

Why in News

• On March 10, 2022, the Election Commission declared the results of the Legislative Assembly elections held for 70 seats in the state, in which the Bharatiya Janata Party won 47 seats and got an absolute majority.

Key Points

- In this election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the maximum 47 seats and got 44.33 percent votes.
- With this, BJP has created history by being the first party to form government in Uttarakhand for two consecutive terms.
- The two-time winner and Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost from the Khatima seat by 6951 votes.
- The Indian National Congress stood at second by winning 19 seats, getting 37.91 percent of the votes.
- Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and independents could win 2 seats each.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/12-03-2022/uttarakhand/print