

## Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections, 2022 | Uttar Pradesh | 11 Mar 2022

#### Why in News

On March 10, 2022, the Election Commission declared the results of the assembly elections for 403 seats in the state, in which the Bharatiya Janata Party along with its allies won 273 seats and secured an absolute majority.

#### **Key Points**

- According to the Election Commission, out of all the 403 seats in the state, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 255 seats. Besides this, BJP's ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) won 12 seats and Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal (Nishad) won 6 seats.
- The main opposition party in the state Samajwadi Party (SP) stood at the second position, winning 111 seats. SP's ally Rashtriya Lok Dal won 8 seats and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party won 6 seats.
- Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won 8 seats and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party won 6 seats. 2 seats were won by the Jansatta Dal Democratic.
- The Congress has been able to win only two seats, while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), once a major political power in Uttar Pradesh, could win only one seat.
- This time 4,442 candidates were in the fray in the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. Of these, 560 were women. Of these, 33 women candidates were successful. Maximum 25 women won from Bharatiya Janata Party. At the same time, 6 candidates of Samajwadi Party and one woman candidate of Congress won. In 2017, 38 women candidates won.

# 32nd National Canoe Sprint National Competition | Madhya Pradesh | 11 Mar 2022

#### Why in News

 On March 10, 2022, Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan launched the 32nd National Canoe Sprint, 15th Para Canoe and 1st Standup Paddling National Competition 2021-22 at Chote Talab, Bhopal.

#### **Key Points**

- This competition is being organized in the memory of Late Sanjeev Kumar Singh, a senior IPS officer. This is the first time that this national competition is being organized in the name of an individual.
- The Secretary of Indian Kayaking and Canoeing said that the senior IPS officer, Mr. Sanjeev Kumar has made a special contribution to sports, so this competition is being organized in his name.

- About 750 players from 27 states are participating in this competition, which will run from March 10 to 13. 47 players from the host Madhya Pradesh are participating in this competition. There will be competitions for a total of 285 medals.
- The 15th Para Canoe and 1st Standup Paddling Championship are also being organized on this occasion. The most important thing is that on the basis of this competition, the Indian team is also to be selected, which will participate in the Beijing Asian Games.

### First Drone School of the State | Madhya Pradesh | 11 Mar 2022

#### Why in News

• On March 10, 2022, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan inaugurated the first drone school of the state by flying a remote drone at MITS ground in Gwalior.

#### **Key Points**

- It is noteworthy that on December 11, an announcement was made to open five drone schools in the state, out of which the first school has been launched in Gwalior.
- Union Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia said that 40 to 50 children will be trained in drone technology every month in this drone school. The youth trained in drone pilot training will be able to earn an average income of 30 thousand rupees every month.
- He said that about 2.5 thousand (500 per school) drone pilots would be ready in a year when all the five drone schools of Madhya Pradesh are started.
- He said that about 2.5 thousand (500 per school) drone pilots would be ready in a year when all the five drone schools of Madhya Pradesh are started.
- Madhya Pradesh is currently one of the leading states across the country in the use of drone technology.
- Union Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Minister Narendra Singh Tomar said that special promotion is being given to drone technology in the field of agriculture in the country. In the near future, revolutionary progress will emerge from the use of this technology.
- He said that the Agriculture Department of the Government of India has released the Drone Policy, in which 12th pass children can get good employment as a drone pilot by getting a grant of up to Rs 4 lakh.
- Similarly, if agricultural graduates want to set up a unit of drone technology, they can get a grant
  of up to Rs 5 lakh. Apart from this, institutions can also get up to 100 percent grant in agriculture
  drone policy.
- Tomar said that drone technology is playing an important role in getting home ownership rights to the people of rural areas. Similarly, drone technology has proved to be revolutionary in thwarting the locust attack.

# Safety Innovation National Award, 2021 | Chhattisgarh | 11 Mar 2022

#### Why in News

 NTPC Lara, located in Raigad district of Chhattisgarh was awarded the Safety Innovation Award, 2021 by the Institution of Engineers, Safety and Quality Forum, New Delhi at the 18th Safety Convention.

#### **Key Points**

- NTPC received this award from Prof. DP Agrawal (Former Chairman of Union Public Service Commission) and Dr. H.O. Thackeray, (Chairman of the Institution of Engineers).
- Harish Mittal (Senior Manager (Safety) Lara) received the award on behalf of NTPC Lara.
- The award was given to NTPC Lara in the energy sector category for implementing innovative safety management systems at the workplace.
- Lara Super Thermal Power Station is a coal based power plant located near village Lara, Taluk
  Pusor in Raigad District of Chhattisgarh. It has an installed capacity of 1600 MW. The major feature
  of this plant is 800 MW super critical technology.

### Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2022 | Uttarakhand | 11 Mar 2022

#### Why in News

 On March 10, 2022, the Election Commission declared the results of the Legislative Assembly elections held for 70 seats in the state, in which the Bharatiya Janata Party won 47 seats and got an absolute majority.

#### **Key Points**

- In this election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the maximum 47 seats and got 44.33 percent votes.
- With this, BJP has created history by being the first party to form government in Uttarakhand for two consecutive terms.
- The two-time winner and Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost from the Khatima seat by 6951 votes.
- The Indian National Congress stood at second by winning 19 seats, getting 37.91 percent of the votes.
- Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and independents could win 2 seats each.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/11-03-2022/print