

## **President's Gallantry Medal**



drishtiias.com/printpdf/presidents-gallantry-medal

## Why in News

On the occasion of Independence Day on August 15, 2021, nine policemen from Uttar Pradesh received the **President's Medal for Gallantry**, four were given the President's Medal for Distinguished Services while 73 police personnel were awarded medals for their outstanding services.

## **Key Points**

- According to official sources, nine police personnel, including the Superintendent of Police of Jaunpur Ajay Kumar Sahni, will be honoured with the President's Medal for Gallantry on Independence Day. The prominent officers who will get Gallantry Medals are Ajay Kumar Sahni, Bijendra Pal Rana, Akshay Sharma, Bhupendra Kumar Sharma, Sunil Nagar, Taslim Khan, Pravesh Kumar Shukla, Pankaj Mishra and Shailendra Kumar.
- Besides Alok Singh, Commissioner of Police of Gautam Buddha Nagar, Geeta Singh, SP CB CID, Lucknow, Wajid Ali Khan, Sub-Inspector, district Deoria, and Jagat Narain Mishra, Platoon Commander, 11 Bn PAC in Sitapur, have been awarded the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Services.
- At the same time, 73 police personnel of the state will be given medals for their outstanding services.
- Meanwhile, on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of Independence, the state government released 75 women prisoners from different jails.